My First 3 Drawings

Moderator: duey

<<

Kieron12

Brand New Member

Post Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:34 pm

My First 3 Drawings

Hello all.

I am new to drawing and these are my first three drawings in order from first to last... Please understand I do not have a teacher of any sort and these were done from what I know...

1)
A still life that was infront of me.

2)

Reference: http://econogirl.files.wordpress.com/2011/08/banana.jpg

3)

Reference: http://www.independent.co.uk/incoming/article8348409.ece/BINARY/original/pears.jpg

I decided to start with fruit as it seemed simplest...

Please advise me on what I should do to improve and learn to draw properly... Also please advise on what objects I should draw after learning to draw fruit like this...
<<

paul_H

Post Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: My First 3 Drawings

Hi Kieron, nice to meet you (virtually).

I like your first drawings. All I can say initially is keep practicing and you will find a method that suits you. I'm just a hobbyist as well and I find that for more complex drawings that are done from a reference photo it might be worth gridding your photo using say, microsoft 'paint', then putting that reference grid onto your paper. This will help guide you and make sure you get all the various bits in the correct place (This works for me). I've put a couple of my pictures of work in progress up on this site. Just check them out to see what I mean.

In regards to subject matter I would just say choose things that interest you and that should ensure you stay engaged in the process. Also if you are drawing in plain graphite make sure you use the full range of hardness H5-B5; and if in colour have a good range of colour grades. This helps with getting more depth and detail into your work

Other people might have different ideas but these are just some that work for me.

Hope that helps for a start. Keep up the good work

Paul 8)
<<

Kieron12

Brand New Member

Post Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:42 am